Abby’s 2014 Year in Review

Happy December my loves! Another year is almost in the books and we recently passed our one year blogiversary (congratulations to us on 88 posts over the past 14 months). Well, we are another year older and another year wiser and another year closer to being lifelong friends. This year has been full of highs and lows: we’ve seen divorce and separation, loneliness and the loss of loved ones, illness and breakups. But we’ve also seen the birth of new nieces, weddings and celebrations, the beginnings of fantastic new relationships, amazing trips and cross-country moves. I want to take a moment to thank all of you superfriends and all of you anonymous readers in the blogosphere for your love and support over the past year. And now, because it’s a little more fun to talk about the highs than the lows, I want to recap my top 6 moments of 2014!

1. Adopting Jack

We adopted our furry little bundle of joy last January and he is far and above the highlight of my year. JUST LOOK AT THAT FACE! Jack has brought so much joy into our lives it’s ridiculous. Having a dog is lot of work, but every time he greets me with just endless excitement it makes it all so worth it!

Our first picture with Jack!

Our first picture with Jack!

2. Engagement Party

Adam and I have had so many amazing times together this year and have had a ton of fun planning for our upcoming wedding, but I think the engagement party his parents threw for us in March takes the cake. Most of you superfriends were there which just added to the specialness of the event and I loved having so many friends and family on hand to celebrate with us. I also loved how it felt like I was being welcomed into the Kroll family with open arms – I can’t imagine a better family to be marrying into.

Family together at our engagement party!

Family together at our engagement party!

3. Hamptons Winery Trip

In June I traveled up to New York to spend the weekend with three incredible girls I worked with at the Kastles back in 2011 – we have stayed close friends ever since and our constant group texting allows us to keep in touch even when we’re not together. Jessie also joined us since she lives in New York and we all had an amazing day at wineries in the Hamptons (thanks to Artie for driving us around all day).

Girls at a winery

Girls at a winery

All giggles on the beach

All giggles on the beach

4. Graduation

In may I graduated from business school with my MBA. It was a pretty special moment and the culmination of two years of hard work! To get some additional insight into what I learned at b-school and my passion for marketing, check out my other blog – Brand Loyalist!

Some of my favorite people at b-school

Some of my favorite people at b-school

Happy to be graduating!

Happy to be graduating!

5. Lindsay’s Wedding

There’s nothing more special than getting to see your best friend marry the love of her life. Lindsay’s wedding was beautiful, emotional and so much fun. The ceremony was so special and I loved spending the weekend with Lindsay’s and Stephen’s families and with all of the superfriends. I think the absolute highlight was closing out the reception with a big dance party to Shake it Off. Sasha and Lindsay – you have set the bar HIGH for superfriends weddings and I hope mine can live up to it. 🙂

Superfriends celebrating

Superfriends celebrating

A special moment with the bride

A special moment with the bride

6. Thanksgiving in South Carolina

Since I’m not working and had some extra time on my hands, I went down to South Carolina with my mom for the whole week of Thanksgiving. It was really great to spend some quality one-on-one time with my mom in addition to all of the warm happiness that comes from spending the holiday with my extended family. Since most of my mom’s fam is in South Carolina we usually only see them once a year which makes Thanksgiving extra special. My mom and I rocked our matching dresses, enjoyed amazing food cooked by my Aunts Diane and Julie and had a blast on our traditional post-dinner walk to the park. We also took a private yoga class taught by my cousin, Rachel, and visited my Aunt Becky’s farm, met her donkey, sheep and miniature horses in addition to having delicious fresh egg salad from her chickens and lettuce from her garden.

Twinning with mom

Twinning with mom

Cousins pic!

Cousins pic!

I can’t to see what next year brings (marrying Adam!!!!) and still have much to look forward to as 2014 wraps up with more quality time with the superfriends. What were your top moments of 2014??

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Abby’s 2014 Year in Review

  1. I cracked the top 6! I am honored 🙂

Leave a Reply

