Lindsay’s Bridal Shower – Behind the Scenes DIY

This past weekend, I had the honor of throwing a bridal shower for Lindsay. I love Lindsay and I love planning parties so I had a blast choosing a menu and getting crafty with some DIY projects!

Theme

I know Lindsay has always been a big fan of the color yellow so I wanted to incorporate that and paired it with navy for a classic/preppy look. I used these colors throughout from the invitations to the decorations. I used Etsy to find a great pattern for the invitations and recipe cards I sent to all of the guests. Everyone filled out the recipe cards and brought them to the shower where I had a recipe box waiting to hold them. It even inspired us to come up with a new ISF blog feature – where Lindsay posts about each recipe as she cooks them (do it, Lindsay!!).

 

Bridal Shower Invite and Recipe Card

Bridal Shower Invite and Recipe Card

Decorations

The decorations were fairly minimal since the shower was held at Lindsay’s parents house which is already gorgeous! I made a couple of banners using another Etsy design and decorated large letters with yellow and blue puff paint. The plates and napkins matched the color scheme and I (with Jeanette’s help!) made little matching flags that went in the cupcakes and turkey sausage and croissant roll ups.

"L"indsay and "S"tephen

“L”indsay and “S”tephen

Yellow and Navy Banners

Yellow and Navy Banners

Little Flags!

Little Flags!

 

Favors

I think the party favors were my favorite part of the shower. Since Lindsay loves to munch on healthy snacks, I made my own trail mix with custom labels. In the trail mix I included cashews, almonds, craisins and dark chocolate chips. I used half regular craisins and half reduced sugar craisins because I didn’t want the mix to be too sweet.  I work with a great graphic designer at the Kastles and she was awesome enough to help design the labels. We were inspired by some we saw on pinterest and adapted them to the yellow and navy color scheme. The labels said “Lindsay and Stephen are the perfect mix!’ and “Love is sweet but sometimes nuts!”

The perfect mix: cashews, almonds, craisins, dark chocolate chips

The perfect mix: cashews, almonds, craisins, dark chocolate chips

Trail Mix Baggies

Trail Mix Baggies

Trail Mix Label Close Up

Trail Mix Label Close Up

I think my favorite find for the shower were these adorable bride and groom outfits for the champagne bottles! I got them at Michael’s and they crack me up – they are a hoot!

Champagne Bride and Groom

Champagne Bride and Groom

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

