Gettin my veggie on!

Hi all!

Happy Monday! It’s a rainy one here in Baltimore, but I have a rare free afternoon so I’m enjoying my time with the pup.  Since I started working on top of schooling, I have been crazy busy and trying to take Lindsay’s meal planning tips to heart. On Sundays I go grocery shopping and try to spend the afternoon making a more involved recipe that I can eat all week. I wanted to share the dish I made yesterday because I am pretty proud of it!

 

Layered Vegetable Ratatouille inspired by this recipe from Table For 2

Layered Vegetable Ratatouille

Layered Vegetable Ratatouille

 

First, I made the yummy tomato sauce that is spread along the bottom of the dish. Is there anything that smells better than sauteed garlic and onions?? (No). Next, I sliced and sauteed squash, eggplant and zucchini and layered them in the pan. Bake it for about 20 minutes on 200 degrees and this baby was good to go. I used two baby eggplants, 2 zucchs and 2 squash. After last night’s dinner, I took the leftovers and portioned them out into tupperware to bring to work for lunch.

 

Layered Vegetable Ratatouille - close up!

Layered Vegetable Ratatouille – close up!

 

Another dish I have made recently was a Greek inspired pasta salad! I made this recipe up for an Oscar’s Party at Carrie’s place. I tried to make a “healthified” version of pasta salad and used low carb pasta and lots of veggies.

 

Greek Inspired Pasta Salad

First, I cooked up the low carb rotini, drained it and rinsed it with cold water.

Next, I chopped my veggies: zucchini, orange and yellow bell peppers and grape tomatoes.

I mixed the veggies in with the pasta, added some sprinkles of parsley, some low fat feta cheese and a couple tablespoons of olive oil.

Last step is to add a little salt and pepper to taste.

This dish was a big hit at the party and I can’t wait to make it again this summer!

Greek pasta salad with veggies

Greek pasta salad with veggies

 

So what’s been cooking in y’all’s kitchens??

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

