The Problem(s) with Blogs

The problem with blogs is that they are not like books.

Something I’ve been hearing a lot is: “Kat, you never post anything on the blog! You must have SOMETHING to blog about.” And that may be the case, but I have trouble telling what that would be. What if I started to blog about something and then it turned into one of those long, meandering stories you tell that doesn’t really have a point and then no one’s really sure when it’s over because there was no point, so you have to say, “And then I found five dollars,” like we did circa 2000.

But it’s not just that. The fact is that I can’t ever keep up with what happened BEFORE my blog post. You can’t just butt into a conversation with some random comment without knowing what everybody was talking about before you got there. Or you can, but you shouldn’t.

It’s not that I don’t like to read things (although it’s true that I don’t like to read things on a screen). But it’s hard to keep up.

For example: I have a copy of Nabokov’s Laughter in the Dark on my bookshelf. Aside from the special qualities of this book that make it my FAVORITE book, it has a general quality shared by all books: When I open to page 7, the books always starts with “Once upon a time there lived in Berlin, Germany, a man called Albinus.” I have read this novel several times now, and though I may savor different details each time, it is always exactly the same book.

Not so with blogs! Scarcely do I turn my back but they say something DIFFERENT from the last time I looked at them! Imagine my distress if  were to turn to open to page 7 of Laughter in the Dark and find a totally different sentence from the last time I had looked. And what if, worse still, I had already read the first half of the book and then things started to change? It would be all too bewildering. With blogs, it IS all too bewildering.

Moreover, they’re written backwards. Instead of everything I already read being behind me as I page forwards towards new chapters, the new chapters have shifted around to suddenly be the first page. And of course these are only the very newest chapters, not necessarily the chapters that are new to me. So I find myself having to page backwards to find out what happened before, an experience I seldom have with a book, unless it is part of the Choose Your Own Adventure series (where I was always cheating anyway, since nobody wanted to land on the page where you got horribly killed by space vampires or a time-traveling dinosaur).

Of course, to a certain extent, I feel the same way about the news. New things are happening not only every day, but every second. How could anyone possibly keep up? Luckily, though, news is still (for now) packaged in newspapers, limited to a certain number of printed pages, with articles that remain on the same pages no matter when you read the newspaper. The solution might be printing out all the blog posts I haven’t read yet at the frequency of, say, a weekly newsletter. But maybe, in a way I don’t quite understand, that would defeat the purpose.

I guess what I trying to say is, sorry, guys. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of this blogging thing sooner or later.

And now back to my book.

 

One thought on “The Problem(s) with Blogs

  1. abbyzaniel says:

    Some might argue that newspapers are dying, but you probably have some time with that one. I’m getting Laughter in the Dark on my kindle. JK no kindle, I’ll read the actual book. With pages.

Leave a Reply

