Ringing In 2014

The time between Christmas and New Year’s always seems to fly by and this year was no exception! The past few days have been a whirlwind as Adam and I have looked at wedding venues, moved things out of my parent’s house and spent time with family and friends. Highlights included a night out with Jessie in Baltimore. We started the evening with amazing Greek food from Baba’s and then went out for drinks with Jeanette and some of Adam’s friends. Another night we went to Adam’s parent’s place for Chili Mafalda, a throwback meal that Adam’s mom used to make for the family when the kids were little.  It’s essentially a chili pasta but it was delicious and had nostalgic value for the whole fam.

Falafel, hummus and Greek salad

Falafel, hummus and Greek salad

Before I knew it, New Year’s Eve was here and it was time to clean the apartment and prep for the night’s festivities! This year was my first year hosting NYE in our new apartment and I was excited to show off Baltimore to my Northern Virginia friends. Jess, Kat and Kat’s Swedish boyfriend arrived in the afternoon and we spent some time walking around the Inner Harbor and riding the carousel.

New Year Countdown!

New Year Countdown!

Inner Harbor on New Year's Eve

Inner Harbor on New Year’s Eve

After a windy walk around the harbor we met up with our other guests to have some snacks and get dolled up before dinner. Around 8pm we walked over to Kona Grill, mostly chosen because of it’s proximity to our place, fairly reasonable prices and the fact that it could take a group of 12 on New Year’s Eve. We enjoyed tasty cocktails (I had a strawberry basil rum lemonade) and some decent Asian fusion-type food. Several people at our table got a miso sake sea bass and I had shrimp pad Thai. I don’t think any of us were blown away, but it certainly got the job done and our waiters were friendly and attentive. After dinner we came back to the apartment for drinks and games. We played several rounds of Head’s Up and were laughing hysterically over some of the guesses and clues.

Clue: Not Dunkin’ Donuts, but the other donut

Guess: Bagel

Actual Answer: Krispy Kreme

Ladies dressed up for New Year's Eve

Ladies dressed up for New Year’s Eve

Champagne toast! (pic leftover from Christmas)

Champagne toast! (pic left over from Christmas)

At midnight we all grabbed some champagne and headed to the roof to watch the fireworks display in the harbor. The fireworks were fantastic and we spent the rest of the evening having an impromptu dance 90’s dance party until the wee hours of the morning. It was the perfect way to ring in 2014!

I have spent most of New Year’s Day on the couch nursing a mysterious ankle injury and watching movies. Speaking of which, did you know that Renee Zellweger’s character in Jerry Maguire is supposed to be 26?! JMags is one of my all time favorite movies and I have always thought of her character as an adult. A real adult, well into a career and stuff. But she is the same age as I am now! When did I get this old?? Between this startling realization and the start of the New Year, I feel like I need to actually set some resolutions for 2014, you know, beyond the standard “I want to lose weight and get in shape for my wedding.” I have some general goals like graduate and find a job I love, but I will have to think of some real actionable resolutions for the coming year. I’ll share on the blog once I figure those out! In the meantime, happy 2014 everyone and show me the money!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

