New Year, New Goals

Hi all!

I know I haven’t written a post of real substance in a while, so a sleepy Friday night seemed as good a time as any! Plus, I’ve been inspired recently…mostly by you guys. But I’ve been thinking a bit the last few days about an article I read last year as well.

This article was about how people go about getting or attracting all of the things they want in life, and it focused mostly on relationships- friendships, romantic partnerships, etc. It highlighted nothing surprising…and yet I walked away kind of shocked. The emphasis was on, what do *I* bring to my relationships? What do I bring to the world that I can speak to? Like I said, nothing overly surprising, but phrased in a way I guess I hadn’t thought of it. I started thinking of my days in terms of, “what am I creating? How would I be adding value to someone/something else with the things I’m doing?” Whether it means writing a blog post, volunteering at Boys and Girls Club, or going on a run (creating a better me!), I’ve been working to focus on me rather than the things I want or lack.

I have not been able to do this every day (hey, life gets in the way sometimes!), but it is part of the reason I have somewhat kept up with this blog (versus every other blog I’ve started…oops.). It’s the reason I am signing up for the Philly Half Marathon next year (hopefully I can get in!). It’s the reason I’m starting to volunteer at Boys and Girls Club…as well as Gap stores during the holidays. It’s no secret to you all that, while I love my job and my city, it’s been really difficult for me to find my footing in terms of a personal life. When so many folks move here with a group of friends already in place, I need to give new people a reason to invest their time…and that’s what I walked away from this article thinking. It did take a tough love approach, but it’s a tough love approach to making myself better, whether it does attract other people or not.

Now- you all. You guys have so inspired me to be the kind of person that this article advocates for…but in such a different way. The five of you live passionately and approach the things you do with a conviction that I often lack. You decide you want to climb a mountain, get an MBA, write a book, shove an entire choco taco in your mouth in public (I’m sorry, I had to), ride a Mardi Gras float…you guys just do it. There’s an energy that our little group brings to each of its individual relationships, and I constantly cross my fingers that I have been able to take that energy with me as well.

Every day I feel compelled to bring to my own life, as well as my relationships, the ambition and humor that you guys seem to so easily. I’m muddling through finding my own way to do it in a city that always feels new- I’m sure tripping up stairs and crying over spilled milk will be involved- but I’m thinking 2014 is the year.

P.S. it seems over the course of this post that it’s taken on kind of a Thanksgiving vibe, so I’ll just say it- I love you guys, and you really are my role models. So excited to see you all in just a few weeks!

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals

  1. abbyzaniel says:

    I liked the post mostly for the Sasha shoving things in her mouth reference. But also because I love you and I am so excited to see you meet your goals! Now stop crying over spilled milk!

  2. Jess- this is such a well-written post. I can’t remember where I first heard this quote, but it really applies here: “You have to find yourself before someone else can find you, love yourself before you can be loved, believe in your future to be a part of someone else’s future.”

  3. Thanks ladies! And Linz, totally agree- I’ve always known it but rarely lived it. It’s time I start living up to what I already know to be true!

Leave a Reply

