Travel Tuesday (ish): Charleston, SC

I typed this yesterday, but then never had internet so posting now on Travel Wednesday 🙂

Hi all! Typing this from the road as my mom, Adam, Turkey and I drive down to Columbia, SC for Thanksgiving. In honor of my current road trip down south, I figured I’d pop in with a post on my Labor Day weekend trek to Charleston and Isle of Palms! My mom grew up in Aiken, South Carolina with 3 brothers and 4 sisters and even though she moved up north to DC, she still has plenty of family down south. A few months ago my mom, Adam and I visited my Uncle Jeff’s family at their condo in Isle of Palms. Charleston is surrounded by several little islands that each have gorgeous beaches and not much else. We spent most of the weekend on the island enjoying long walks on the beach, playing kadima, swimming in the ocean and riding on my Uncle’s boat.

We made it to North Carolina! Adam loves pictures!

We made it to North Carolina! Adam loves pictures!

We had fun on the long ride down enjoying car snacks like Twizzlers and Cherry Coke. I bought the Twizzlers from a vending machine thinking that I got a great treat for us all to share. Welp, apparently Mom and Adam don’t like Twizzlers. OH WELL MORE TWIZZIES FOR ME!

We soaked in the last rays of summer on the beach and saw dolphins on our boat ride! After doing crew in high school, I have an affinity for all boats (Yes, all boats – said in a british accent circa Two Weeks Notice) and love to be on the water.

Boats docked in Isle of Palms

Boats docked in Isle of Palms

Cruising on the boat

Cruising on the boat

Adam and I also spent an afternoon walking around downtown Charleston. Aside from a week in Myrtle Beach with some of our friends in college and a trip to Aiken with my family one spring, Adam hadn’t spent much time in the south and hadn’t seen a real southern city. He enjoyed the southern charm that Charleston offered and we spent hours walking around in the brutal heat. In need of a cold drink and a snack, we popped into Bakehouse, a little coffee shop looking place that we stumbled on just when we felt like we couldn’t walk another step. We stumbled into a hidden gem! According to some magazine clippings on the wall, Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds served sweets from Bakehouse at their Charleston wedding. Anthony Bourdain had also visited Bakehouse and recommended a salted caramel chocolate cake which of course we had to try. It had the texture of a brownie and was perfectly rich and delicious. After stopping at Bakehouse we continued to walk along the water to the Battery.

Colorful homes in Charleston

Colorful homes in Charleston

Adam showing off

Adam showing off

We spent some time watching the boats in the harbor and then headed back up town along King Street and popped into some stores for a little shopping. We continued walking up through the area where College of Charleston is located and headed to our dinner destination, The Grocery. Since Adam is a total foodie and Charleston is becoming a great food city, he was excited to pick our dinner destination and was happy to succeed in getting a reservation at the Grocery – a place with great reviews online. The restaurant did not disappoint. The menu included a lot of American dishes with a unique southern twist. We wanted to try a bunch of different flavors so we ordered a few starters to share and then split an entrée. We started the meal on a high note with fried oysters with deviled egg sauce. We followed that up with a bone marrow brulee (sounds weird but tasted good) and a corn sformato with chorizo. That sformato was probably one of the best things I have EVER tasted. I had never heard of sformato before but it is an eggy soft corn soufflé and it was just completely delicious. We then split the scallop entrée with hominy and okra and a side of eggplant with feta and honey. I loved the scallops, but not the accompaniments and Adam and I both agreed that the eggplant was disappointing. However, that sformato was the stuff of dreams. After dinner we walked back downtown, popped into a bar to watch some football and then headed back to Isle of Palms. It was a great day in Charleston!

Waterfront Park in Charleston

Waterfront Park in Charleston

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Travel Tuesday (ish): Charleston, SC

  1. I LOVE Charleston! We visited last October for my cousin Kristin’s wedding, and two days was just not enough! The bride and groom recommended brunch at Husk. but it was too crowded when we went. We dined at Poogan’s Porch next door instead. It was fantastic! I remember fried alligator and flaky biscuits and creamy grits. Southern food is the best. I can’t wait to go back! Abby, bachelorette party, maybe?? I’ve read it’s a top choice for that!

  2. abbyzaniel says:

    I went to Husk a couple of year’s ago – delicious shrimp and grits!!

Leave a Reply

