Thanksgiving Recipes

Maybe it’s the fact that I have a TON of homework to do or maybe it’s the fact that I haven’t eaten much real food in the past five days, but for whatever the reason, I can’t stop looking at yummy Thanksgiving recipes! I figured I would compile some here on the blog in case you guys are looking for some new dishes to try! Super friends – feel free to chime in with your family’s favorite recipes.

 

Stuffing:

We typically have 2-3 different stuffings (dressings? what’s the difference?) at my Thanksgiving, made by my Aunt Julie. One usually has sausage in it and one is more traditional.

Classic Stuffing from A Pinch Here, A Dash There

Classic Stuffing Recipe from Old World Garden Farms

Apple, Sage, and Sausage Stuffing from One Dad’s Kitchen

 

Sweet Potatoes:

A highlight of my South Carolina Thanksgiving is TWO different sweet potato dishes (YUM). My Aunt Diane makes a sweet potato souffle with marshmallows on top that is fairly similar to this Traditional Southern Sweet Potato Casserole. When I make the recipe I typically cut the amount of sugar and spices in half because sweet potatoes have such an amazing flavor on their own, but of course the traditional southern version must have the sugar in butter 🙂 Diane also makes a candied sweet potato dish that looks similar to the Barefoot Contessa’s Caramelized Butternut Squash recipe.

Sweet Potato and Carrot Casserole from the Domestic Blonde (I would eliminate the pecan topping because of my very real nut allergy)

Sweet Potato Cheese Balls from Urban Farms

 

Veggies:

Vegetables do not play a prominent role in my southern Thanksgiving, except for when they are covered in cheese. However, my vegan cousin has done a good job of sneaking more veggie dishes into our usual spread! Asparagus and squash casseroles are old standbys and lately brussels sprouts have been making an appearance.

Maple Mustard Glazed Brussels Sprouts and Carrots from Lisa’s Project: Vegan

Roasted Brussels Sprouts from Barefoot Contessa

Caramelized Brussels Sprouts from Eat, Live, Run

Making Sweet Tater Casserole

Making Sweet Tater Casserole

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

