Turkey Time!

Happy Thursday Superfriends! In the past 36 hours I have eaten two saltines and two cups of water with a splash of fruit punch gatorade, but the good news is that after a dreadful bout of food poisoning, I am starting to feel better! I’m even feeling well enough to talk about turkey, no, not the food, the balloon.

Turkey first came into my life two years ago when my friend Carrie brought him to our annual Pilgrim and Indian party. Jeanette and I hosted our first Pilgrim and Indian party in my dorm room back in 2006 and it has been a lasting tradition ever since. Everyone dresses like a Pilgrim or Indian, we drink things like vodka cranberries and apple pie shots and undoubtedly take a lot of hilarious photos. When Carrie walked in with a giant Turkey balloon, it definitely took Pilgrim and Indian to the next level.

I was so delighted with Turkey that he ended up coming on my family’s trip to South Carolina for Thanksgiving. We took lots of funny pics of Turkey on the drive down and my friends followed Turkey’s antics on twitter with the hashtag #turkeygoessouth.

Turkey at Pilgrim and Indian

Turkey at Pilgrim and Indian

Turkey and Jeanette

Turkey and Jeanette

#turkeygoessouth

#turkeygoessouth

Turkey at South of the Border

Turkey at South of the Border

Turkey at Thanksgiving

Turkey at Thanksgiving

Yes, I am also responsible for the turkey hat. My family loves me.

Turkey was retired after Thanksgiving 2011 and unfortunately when I went to search for a new Turkey in 2012, I couldn’t find the same balloon! I ended up with a Turkey that was more anatomically correct, but a little less funny. Of course, that didn’t stop me from taking Turkey around for pics. Turkey even came to New York for my friend Courtney’s wedding. He stayed in the hotel during the actual event, but friends were able to follow Turkey’s activities with the hashtag #turkeywearsatux.

Turkey and his brothers!

Turkey and his brothers!

Turkey in New York City - just missed the Thanksgiving Day parade!

Turkey in New York City – just missed the Thanksgiving Day parade!

#turkeywearsatux

#turkeywearsatux

And for good measure I’ll throw in some pics from Courtney and Carl’s gorgeous wedding at the Harvard Club so you know the weekend wasn’t all about Turkeys! Thanks to Jeanette for lending me that brown dress!

Outside the church at Courtney's wedding

Outside the church at Courtney’s wedding

Inside the Harvard Club

Inside the Harvard Club – sorry for the blurred lines

Courtney and Carl's first dance!

Courtney and Carl’s first dance!

Courtney and Carl's romantic sweetheart table

Courtney and Carl’s romantic sweetheart table

Cutting the cake! Don't worry, there was a gluten-free option for Courtney

Cutting the cake! Don’t worry, there was a gluten-free option for Courtney

 

 

PS. Anyone in Maryland looking for a Turkey balloon for Thanksgiving, I got mine at Party Mania in Bethesda!

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Turkey Time!

  1. […] shirts that we ordered from Lindsay’s company. As you may have gathered from my Turkey post, I LOVE holidays and the more decorations and cheesiness, the […]

Leave a Reply

