The Proposal

And I’m not talking about the amazing Sandra Bullock movie! I figured it is time to spill the dirt on Adam’s proposal in detail to all you superfriends! Let’s start at the beginning…a few weeks ago, Adam asked me if I wanted to go to the zoo since it had reopened after being closed during the government shutdown. Adam and I first went to the zoo together our sophomore year of college after watching all of the BBC Planet Earth series and we have been going to the zoo at least a couple times a year since then so this wasn’t a totally unusual request, but I did have a little hunch that this could be the proposal site! We set a zoo date for Sunday, October 27.

The morning of the 27th, we drove down to DC for brunch at Old Ebbitt Grill with my mom and my cousin Sarah along with my cousin Meredith and her friend Amy who were visiting from South Carolina. We had a great meal and a lot of fun chatting with my family which Adam said helped him relax a little. After brunch wrapped up we got in the car and headed to the zoo.

As soon as we got into the zoo I got super nervous! Like I said, I had a hunch the proposal was coming and all of a sudden all I could think about was where it would happen and what he would say and how I would react. We headed on our usual path toward the sloth bears. The sloth bear was nowhere to be found and we moseyed on down to the otters. Between the two exhibits there was a fairly secluded path surrounded by trees and lush greenery, it was there that Adam put his arm around me and told me how much he loved me, got down on one knee and asked me to marry him. It was an amazing moment and it felt like we were the only people in the whole zoo. We weren’t though because after I gushed “Yes, of course!!” Adam pointed out a secret photographer who had been capturing the whole proposal!

All smiles after Adam proposed!

All smiles after Adam proposed!

Thanks Ashley of Ashley Michelle Photography for taking such a great pic! Adam was so thoughtful to get the photographer since he knows how important pictures are to me (I am known among the superfriends to always have my camera and they count on me to snap pics of our group!). After our special proposal, we got to walk around and take more pictures around the zoo. I promise to pass them along once we get the full set.

Newly engaged and couldn't be happier!

Newly engaged and couldn’t be happier!

Squinty with the zoo sign

Squinty with the zoo sign

It was an absolutely perfect day and the celebrations didn’t stop after the zoo – Adam had dinner reservations at The Black Olive in Baltimore, site of one of our first fancy dates together back in 2010 – the date where he first called me his girlfriend! Champagne was waiting at our table and we spent the evening in just-engaged bliss while dining on grilled octopus salad, lamb, scallops and shrimp. So delicious!

Engagement Celebration Dinner

Engagement Celebration Dinner

It was a day I will always remember and Adam did an amazing job planning the perfect proposal at the zoo, a place that has always been special to us. I can’t get over how lucky I am to have Adam in my life as we have gone from great friends to boyfriend and girlfriend and someday to husband and wife!! ❤

 

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “The Proposal

Leave a Reply

