What’s Cookin’

Hey ladies! Happy Friday!

How was your week? Most of my free time was spent wedding planning and cooking. We’re slowly checking items off the to-do list. Just this morning we just booked a photographer, Emily Chastain. Abby, I actually found her through Dani Leigh. Dani was already booked for our date, but she recommended Emily, as did our venue. I’m really looking forward to working with her!

My approach to wedding planning in general has followed the advice of my soon to be sister-in-law Kristy. Her sister recommended researching and contacting three vendors for each need. Sometimes I’ve gone up to four or five choices, but this method is incredibly helpful in preventing the crazies. There are SO many options out there.

Enough wedding chat… let’s talk about the other thing I’ve been doing a lot of this week. Cooking!

Last weekend, Stephen and I spent some time with my Uncle Mark and Aunt Nancy in Houston. We watched an episode of Pioneer Woman on Saturday afternoon, and one of the recipes she prepared on the show was Italian Drip Beef Sandwiches. Our mouths watered watching her segment, the recipe list was simple, and it would give me an excuse to use up a jar of peppers that had been sitting in our fridge for weeks. I was sold.

dripbeef

 

(source) <– You can find the recipe there too.

I prepped the beef on Monday night, and we assembled the sandwiches for dinner on Tuesday. Now, I know not everyone reading is a fan of meat, but man oh man, that was one mind-blowingly good meal. “I like to save the meat for last” <– Name that trip!

I used a leaner roast than she does in the recipe, so there was barely any fat to skim off when I took it out of the fridge on Tuesday. I also subbed out the deli rolls for crusty ciabatta bread and used provolone cheese. Budget tip: I wanted really good quality bread for these, so I went to Whole Foods. Ask the bakery department to cut you a half loaf, and get your cheese from the meat counter. They sliced it paper-thin for me. I walked out of Whole Foods spending just over $3.00. THAT NEVER HAPPENS AT WHOLE FOODS.

This recipe also made a ton of food. Stephen and I have big appetites, but one roast still made enough for 6-8 meals. Rather than just have sandwiches on repeat, I made Stephen a pizza on Thursday night and served myself spaghetti with red sauce, broccoli and leftover meat. It was great both ways.

pizza

 

Tonight we’re headed to our friend’s house for a pumpkin carving party, so I made a loaf of Pumpkin Beer Bread to share.

pumpkinbeerbread

 

 

(source) <– Again, you’ll find the recipe there.

My coworker Mallory attempted this earlier in the week, and hers turned out wet, so I made a few adjustments to mine. I only used 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead of 3 tablespoons of honey, and I baked it for 50 minutes at 395 instead of 375. Worked like a charm.

It’s not very sweet on its own, so I recommend eating it with pumpkin butter or jam.

Okay- that’s all from me today! Have a great weekend, all. We’ll be doing a scavenger hunt race on Saturday, watching a friend’s dog, and prepping the house for Mom and Dad’s visit next week!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “What’s Cookin’

  1. i love saving the meat for last!!!!!
    and you know why it’s funny i can name that trip? it’s because i wasn’t there.
    beach week woop!

  2. abbyzaniel says:

    All of those things look so yummy! I will let you know if Jeanette or I try the drip beef recipe!

Leave a Reply

