Getting in the Fall Spirit

I just logged on with a mind to write about fall festivities, but I see that Abby beat me to it. Darn that Abby!

Unfortunately, it doesn’t feel much like fall in Austin yet. We’ve had a handful of cool days, but 90 degree temps are hanging on for a bit longer. Despite the heat, I got sick of seeing fall-themed Facebook updates from friends in VA and MD last weekend and declared Saturday to be a day of fall celebration.

Stephen was feeling under the weather, so we kept our fall activities pretty tame. First up was a stop at Whole Foods PumpkinPalooza. Flyers promised lots of pumpkin samples and live entertainment, but I have to admit we were a little let down. The pumpkin samples consisted of pumpkin beer, pumpkin seed-encrusted halibut and pumpkin pancakes. It was yummy, but I wouldn’t call it a Palooza, ya know? I did, however, enjoy the pumpkin piles in front of the store. So many varieties!

pumpkin1 pumpkin2

I like the Fairytale Pumpkins best. Excellent marketing 🙂

After PumpkinPalooza, we returned home to work on our painted tombstones for the yard. Did I blog about that yet? We’re still not done with them, but I’ll post pictures when they’re ready.

For dinner, I roasted sweet potatoes and prepared “apple-fried” pork loin. “Apple-fried” is a made-up term. I just mean that I pounded the pork loin thin, soaked it in apple sauce and egg, dredged it in ground oat flour, and pan-fried it until cooked through. It was yummy, but truly not all that apple-y. Needed more apple. And salt. I always forget to salt things.

Hopefully the temps cool down here soon so we can get out for some good fall hiking!

 

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Getting in the Fall Spirit

  1. abbyzaniel says:

    We have had 80 degree days here on the East Coast so it is hard to get into the fall spirit here as well! Can’t wait to see the tombstone pics!

Leave a Reply

