Entrepreneurial Ventures

Hi all! Hope you guys had a fab weekend. I know mine was insane busy, so I’ll do my best to give a quick rundown-

I took it pretty easy on Saturday. I went to a 10 a.m. spin class that left my arms looking like a slip n’ slide…I tried to wipe sweat from my chin with the top of my hand and couldn’t actually tell whether it was my hand or chin that was sweating. Lovely image, right? I spent the rest of the day in Williamsburg, walking around with Grant. We had brunch, some DELICIOUS coffee (seriously, best I’ve ever tasted- Brooklyn is definitely good for that!), and perused the little shops around the waterfront. I joined up with him again later that night for his friend Brett’s birthday, which was super fun! A bunch of ridiculously good looking late-30s gay men dancing on table tops at Bierhaus. Hysterical.

On Sunday, I went for a quick 3 mile run, then had my fantasy hockey draft (YAY HOCKEY!). I got last pick out of 12 (this happens almost EVERY year; it’s uncanny), so that sucked. My draft actually came out ok though, and I managed to get some office work catching up done between rounds, which took some weight off my shoulders for today.

I walked to meet Jess and her boyfriend Nik by Union Square to watch some football afterwards. They watch every week at the same bar- it’s a Steelers bar, and it’s a cute place with a good beer selection and decent food. Good way to spend a Sunday afternoon! I actually met them there the previous Sunday as well, just after a run.

So I showed up yesterday and realized as I reached the bouncer that I did not have my ID. I plaintively explained that I just wanted food and water and to see my friends, and I’d forgotten to put my ID in my shoes (*cough* bra *cough cough*) before leaving on my run. He then exclaimed that he remembered me from last week, having also just returned from a run and handing him my boob sweat-covered ID. I was grateful! But, also mortified. Geez…

Anyway, Jess and I tend to get into many food-centered conversations. She loves to cook, and is actually really good at it, while I love to bake. Of course, my baking skills aren’t top notch, but I must admit my recipe ideas are actually pretty stellar.

Nik left after about 20 minutes for a basketball game, and Jess’s and my conversation naturally turned to new ideas for deliciousness. She told me about her plans for later that evening to use ingredients she had leftover from the previous week’s grocery shopping (I obviously thought of you, Lindsay!)- apple and cheddar scones, and then…slightly mushy peaches she had no idea quite how to utilize. Jess is a jam freak, so jam was her first thought…at which point I suggested peach scones. With brown sugar. And maple glaze. And maybe we could make them gluten free? This is where I started salivating, of course.

When we veered off the food track, I actually asked Jess if she knew of any cute, cozy, non-pretentious coffee shops around the city. I have SO much thesis reading to do, and doing it in my dead quiet apartment starts to feel pretty tedious after a while. It’s nice to have a sweet spot like a nook-ish coffee shop for that break, ya know?

Jess didn’t know of any such place…and ya know, neither did I. There is a total derth of cute, *friendly* coffee shops here! I made a decision right there- I want to open a coffee shop here in New York. Not now, obviously. But maybe five years down the line, when I have my finances and education more figured out, I really want to revisit the idea. Obviously it would be a partnership between Jess and myself, but between our love of baked goods, coffee, and friendly, easy, cozy spots, it seems a natural suggestion. She said she loved the idea, but not the competition, and I even pointed out that it’s not like the Starbucks customer would be our target market…which is why it’s such a great idea in the first place. Five years from now me is stoked!

Which leads me to this- my peach scone recipe! I’m going to try it out tonight and will post pictures. Promise!

1 cup sorghum flour or brown rice flour
1/2 cup almond flour
2/3 cup tapioca starch
1/3 cup organic light brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
2/3 cup peaches, pureed
2 organic free-range eggs, beaten, or Ener-G Egg Replacer
2 tablespoons coconut oil or vegan butter
2 teaspoons bourbon vanilla
1 teaspoon apple juice (if so desired)

Instructions:

Scones

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Or, ya know, just slather it in butter.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.

Add in the wet ingredients and mix just until the scone dough is workable. Scoop out the dough and plop it onto the center of your prepared cookie sheet. Using wet palms, smooth and flatten the dough into an 8-9 inch circle. I use a small silicone spatula to smooth the outside edges.

Brush the top with a little coconut milk or rice milk.

Sprinkle with raw sugar (this makes a lovely crusty top).

Score the dough into eight wedges, using a sharp knife. Cut through and slice the dough down to the bottom. Use the silicone spatula to wiggle some space between each wedge.

Bake in the center of the preheated oven for about 20 to 25 minutes or so, depending upon your oven. Bake until the scones are golden and firm.

Maple glaze

Ingredients:

2 tbsp unsalted butter

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

Melt butter and syrup together in a small saucepan over medium heat. Whisk confectioner’s sugar into mixture until smooth, and immediately drizzle over cooled scones.

I’ll post tonight with photos, promise!

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Entrepreneurial Ventures

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

  2. Jess- I love your passion! I always tell Stephen that if I were to ever own a business, it would be a late night coffee shop, sort of like Tryst in Adams Morgan. Booze, coffee, big tables for board games, and a late closing time.

    • Oohhhh Linz I love this! I have often wondered what the true night owls do when they want to be social but not drunk haha. Might have to incorporate the late night idea into our plan- thanks!

  3. […] rabbit this morning? I have been trying to incorporate fall flavors into my cooking this week!  Unlike Jessie, I like recipes that come out of a box or use 5 ingredients or less. On Saturday, I baked some […]

Leave a Reply

